top of page

10 things I love and hate about London

Updated: Feb 16, 2021

I've lived in London for a year now, which feels crazy. No longer can I say I just came back from travelling, because that was literally over a year ago. I moved here on a whim (totally my kind of thing to do) without thinking about my lack of money, lack of accommodation, and lack of belongings. But I made it, I'm no longer dragging a suitcase around, living in a hostel with one fridge for 100 people, or showering in a room I can barely fit in. I'm counting that as a victory.


So I've made my mind up on London now: I love it. Here's my reasons why - and also my reasons why I don't, because I wouldn't be British if I didn't have a good moan.




  1. I'll never get bored of exploring London, it's huge. I still don't know my way around, and always get the urge to just turn the other way when I see people who are clearly walking towards me for directions. Citymapper, I love you.

  2. On that note, London apps. I don't think I could live without Citymapper, London's own little satnav. Whenever I think I can get away without using it, I'm harshly reminded I can't, by going in the completely wrong direction on the tube. Also, Drinki, the free drinks app - whoever thought of that was a genius. Not all heroes wear capes. Wineapp, Deliveroo, UberEats - the list could go on!

  3. London is the place for foodies. Whether it's local markets, popups, food festivals, or brunch spots, London caters to my inner piggy.

  4. Weekend markets are a thing, and they're everywhere. Sometimes nothing makes me happier than taking a morning out to wander aimlessly round a market, listening to buskers, rummaging around stalls and sipping local coffee.

  5. The city is so diverse - the people, the cultures, and the restaurants. Diversity makes a place so much more interesting.

  6. The fact that you can grab flights to some amazing destinations for under £100. Definitely helps to fuel my travel bug.

  7. The city is so well connected - public transport can get you anywhere at any time. There's a night bus that basically stops right outside my flat and it's saved my life on more than one occasion.

  8. There's always something going on, whether it's a seasonal popup (still missing those Christmassy mulled-wine filled affairs), a festival, a music event, or an art exhibition. You can never complain that you have nothing to do.

  9. I live somewhere that feels far removed from the hustle and bustle of the centre, but close enough that I don't miss out on anything. That's the absolute perfect mix for me.

  10. There's tons of free stuff, like museums, markets and art galleries. So you don't need to worry about being skint and having nothing to do.




  1. I love that it's huge, but I also hate it. That feeling at the end of drinks after work when you realise it's going to take you 45 minutes, 2 tubes and a bus ride to get home.

  2. London has made me one of those fast walkers I've always hated - now I speed everywhere, want to punch dawdler's, and it definitely makes me look funny because I have little legs.

  3. It's bloody expensive. I'm sorry, but £12 for a cinema ticket? Give me strength.

  4. There are so many people. Where do they all come from?! Visiting Camden is like stepping into a child's game of Sim City, where they've not thought about the ratio of pathways and buildings to people.

  5. Packed tubes. There's no way I'm ever going to be ok being sandwiched in the middle of 7 different people, who are inevitably all taller than me.

  6. The fact that there's absolutely no system to walking around Victoria train station.

  7. I know that I've already complained about how expensive it is but I feel like the cost of rent needs it's own point. I'm sorry, am I buying a palace? Is my bed made of pure gold?

  8. I need to sell an organ to buy a train ticket home. It's legitimately cheaper to fly to another country.

  9. Those people who rage when they can't get on a tube even though there's another one two minutes away. Calm yourself Carol.

  10. The air pollution - ain't nobody got time for that.


The pros obviously outweigh the cons, because for every crowded tube ride or angry commuter, there's a cute new brunch spot or an amazing festival that makes you realise just how great London is.

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page