top of page

Best hostels in Australia: From a backpacker

Updated: Apr 9, 2021

Everywhere you go there are an abundance of hostels, just go on booking.com, Agoda, or Hostelworld and prepare to be overwhelmed by choices. But you never really know what it´s like until you get there, right?


Well I´m here to help. And by help I mean I´m going to give a list of each place I stayed my honest reviews. It's worth noting that you get what you pay for when you stay in a hostel - some are actually amazing, but others... not so much. I put together a post on the good and bad of hostel living, if you're figuring out whether it's for you or not.

To be honest, this place was a proper dive when I stayed there, but it was also ridiculously fun. The best places are dives, right? I kid you not, I walked down the corridor on my first day and there was a sanitary pad (USED!) just in the middle of the corridor. All jokes aside, it was in the perfect location about a 5-minute walk to Central Station and it was pretty cheap ($175 a week). Plus there was a great entertainments team when I was there, organising tons of drinking games, free food nights, hangover days and drinks offers at local bars. It was one of the most sociable hostels I´ve stayed in, and I´d recommend it to anyone looking for a fun time in Sydney.



drinking in a Sydney hostel
Drinking boxed wine out of a mug... classy

This was another hostel in a great location: right opposite Roma Street Train Station and about a 10 minute walk from the centre.  I stayed in a 10-bed dorm both times I was there, and it was spacious and clean. They had a hostel bar right next door called the Guilty Rogue as well. Plus, they also handed out free pasta/rice every night so that helped if I was ever in a money pickle. I'd stay here again.


man made beach in Brisbane city
The man-made beach in Brisbane city

The famous Australian party hostel. The number 1 party hostel, actually! It definitely lived up to its name and I had some pretty crazy nights here. But the hostel itself is actually really nice! Huge and comfortable beds, balconies, clean, and great location. I'd recommend it, as long as you don't mind a party hostel.


I loved this hostel, and I'm not even really sure why. The facilities were ok, nothing special, but I think I just loved the vibe there. It all felt very chilled and laid back, which is exactly what I needed at the time (I got there horrendously hungover from a night out in Brizzy). Plus, they do a free shuttle service from the airport and to/from Cairns.


Cute hostel, set up in little huts and close to one of the beaches. Nice chill-out/bar area and pool and some good social activities. I think if I was to choose again I'd probably stay in Base though - they just seemed a bit closer to the action, and had a bit more going on. I went to the full moon party there (yep, they do those) and it was really cool and I met a lot of interesting people.


Really friendly and helpful staff, plus a great lounging area with a cafe, bar, a pool and music. Looked like it was pretty social but I was only there for two nights.


I got to this hostel when I was totally broke before my farm work started, so I spent my days on the beach. This hostel was a bit more low-key than what I've heard about the other hostels in the area, but it was in a perfect location - you walked out the door and you were right on the beach. And the free pancakes were a welcome addition to my sandwich diet at the time.


I needed somewhere to stay while I worked at the carnival, where I was working long hours so I only really saw the hostel early in the morning and when I went to sleep. It looked a bit rough at first but it was actually a good hostel in a central location. Free tea and coffee, good showers, clean beds and helpful staff.


My home away from home! I stayed here for four months and I absolutely loved it. At max capacity, the hostel held 40 people so it felt more like a share house than anything else. It was cosy, sociable, and filled with the best people. Management went all out for Christmas and New Year too which was really nice! But be warned, the kitchen is tiny!



Looked very cute on the outside but that didn't really reflect inside. It was ok but could do with some brightening up. Rooms were spacious with lockers, staff were friendly but it wasn't very sociable. Plus, it was advertised on Hostelworld as including breakfast, but there was no such thing.

A good little stop off hostel before and after your outback tour. Clean, secure and comfortable but not a lot going on - I don't know if this was the time of year I was there, or just that people don't often stick around in Alice Springs. This was fine by me though because I just needed to catch up on sleep both nights I was there.


alice springs sign

The only place you want to stay if you're staying in Darwin (unless you don't want to party, in which case why are you in Darwin?). It's right on the strip, nice facilities, good bar with really cheap drinks, and an in-house DJ for the weekends. Would recommend. Although maybe only a few nights, unless you're not that bothered about sleeping.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page