top of page

Mistakes of a first-time traveller in Australia

Updated: Mar 25, 2021

I was going to make this a generic blog post about mistakes first-time travellers make, but then I decided it would be more interesting to talk about my own mistakes - because I've made plenty, and why not learn from it?


I did not chill out on my journey over here


Flying makes me nervous. I get anxious when it comes to time-keeping. I struggle to sleep on planes. These are all warning signs that I'm not going to do well on a long journey. I was so tired by the time I got to Abu Dhabi (I flew Newcastle-London-Abu Dhabi-Sydney) I booked myself a sleeping pod for 3 hours because I was there for 9; I didn't sleep a wink because I was so nervous about missing my plane.


I slept as soon as I got here 


As you can imagine after reading the above, I was shattered when I got here. But everyone told me "sleep when it's night time - ride it out and you won't get jet lag". That's difficult after 37 hours of no sleep so as soon as I sat on my bed I fell asleep; I had jet lag for four days. Oops.


I have a classic case of over-packing syndrome 


Not only did I have a backpack that was the size of me, I managed to overpack it on numerous occasions – it's even been labelled oversized at airports (it weighed 26kg at one point). I looked like an ant carrying its final meal. I literally had to hoist the backpack onto a seat so that I could sit down in front of it and strap it on before standing up.


I blew my money in the first few weeks 


I worked my ass off at home to save $5,000 to get over here, and I blew it in a matter of weeks. I definitely don't advise that. Here's a blog on a one month Australia travel budget.


Similarly, until recently I haven't really saved my money 


Why change the habit of a lifetime? But no, honestly, don't be me. I ran out of a money on a couple of occasions, and at one point had to go and work in the Outback to get myself in a good position again.


I forgot my own fashion sense for a while 


For some reason, coming out here made me think I didn't need to care about what I wore (and believe me, sometimes I still don't look like I care) but when I first got here I wore a bumbag. Genuinely. I wore shorts that came to an awkward length – about an inch above my knee. And nearly the entire time I worked on the farm I could have been mistaken for a man. Sorry fashion world.


Drinking the night before a flight 


Now I have no idea why I did this because I know how horrific my hangovers are. But there I was on a night out, with a flight booked at 11 am and an apartment inspection at 8 am. I got in at 5.30 am. Safe to say I was there about 2 minutes before check-in closed. That was not a good day, or flight, or very long swervy taxi journey once I got to my destination.


When we road tripped from Sydney we spent waaaay too long in places 


We were meant to road trip from Sydney to Cairns – we got as far as Brisbane. My first mistake was I only saved for three weeks (see, I wasn't any good at saving) the second was that none of us knew anything about cars so we got taken for a ride (accidental pun there) and the third was that we stayed everywhere for too long. Ever heard of a place called 'The Entrance'? No? We hadn't either, there was nothing there, yet we stayed for five days! And we lived on a Brisbane campsite for about two weeks. Here's a blog post on the trials and tribulations we faced on that whole trip.


I've booked more than one long bus journey 


I had a horrifically long bus journey from Brisbane to Longreach: it took 18 hours. I vowed never to do that again. I've just booked a 22-hour coach from Alice Springs to Darwin. So, lesson well learned?


And last but not least, I made my way down the East Coast instead of up


I have no idea of my reasoning behind it. It meant that every time I made mates, I'd ask "where you off to next?" And every time they'd say somewhere I'd just been.


So there we have it, my first-time traveller mistakes. I'd like to say I've learned from them, but let's be honest, you make the same mistake at least five times before you finally get the idea.


sailing in the whitsundays australia


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page