top of page

Top 10 things to do in Lisbon

Updated: Feb 5, 2021

Mosaics of coloured tiles, charming maze-like streets, a love of tinned fish and a buzz that you can only get from a European city... I fell in love with Lisbon the moment I got there, and I can't believe it took me so long to visit.


I went on a 2-week holiday to Portugal at the end of September, and me being me, decided to cram as much in as possible. So I visited Porto, Lisbon and Lagos. Numpty here bought her flights before she'd decided her itinerary though, so had return flights in and out of Lisbon instead of Porto. Thankfully, Eurail had gifted me with a one-country pass for Portugal in return for some content, which gave me eight travel days within a month. So, I hopped on the train from Lisbon > Porto > Lagos... a bit backwards, but that's what you get for not planning properly!


Anyway, Lisbon was my favourite of the three stops - although I loved each of them for different reasons - Lisbon was the place I felt most at home. Truth be told, I could see myself living there in another life... or maybe I still will in the future!


Visit the Belem Tower (aka Torre de Belém)

belem tower lisbon

I love old architecture, so this was top of my list of places to visit. This 16th-century tower not only offers an epic photo opportunity but it's the perfect place to watch the sunset. You can easily hop on a bus from the Lisbon city (the 15E from Cais Sodré) and spend your evening relaxing on the grass, people watching, beer in hand.


Eat alllll the Pastel de Natas


lisbon pastel de natas

You can find this yummy traditional Portuguese custard tart just about anywhere, but my favourite was from Pastéis de Belém, a short walk from the tower - where they claim to have the original recipe.


Have a drink at the LX Factory



This is a cool mish-mash of independent restaurants, bars, boutiques and popups in an industrial complex - totally my kind of place (unfortunately I don't seem to have taken any good photos though...). It's buzzing with energy and feel-good vibes... and an ideal place to spend the night. Or apparently, there's a weekly flea market on Sundays.


Take that all-important Insta shot at Pink Street


pink street lisbon

Of course I've got a few photo spots on my list - all courtesy of my heavily-populated Instagram feeds. I'd seen this brightly hued place on my Insta over and over again, so I had to visit. Like most Instagram hotspots, it looked cool but once I took the photo I didn't feel like there was a whole lot else to do there... however, I did find the next place on my list there. According to Google, Pink Street is actually the place to be at night time when the clubs open - so, one for my next visit!


Eat tinned fish at Sol e Pesca


sol e pesca lisbon

This gem of an eatery was put on the map for a lot of us by Antony Bourdain. It's a quaint tackle shop-turned-bar and serves all manner of tinned fish in tasty little dishes. I swear, before Lisbon, the thought of tinned mackerel absolutely horrified me - and now I can't get enough!


Drink on the street in Barrio Alto



Europe is unrivalled when it comes to its ability to make street drinking not only acceptable, but charming... far removed from the type of street drinking I associate with my teenage days. Barrio Alto is a vibrant neighbourhood decorated with street art, and filled with happy-go-lucky locals and travellers enjoying drinks once the sun goes down.


Head off on a walking tour


sintra lisbon walk

I used to think walking tours were for old people on coach tours, but I've got to say, I'm a convert now (maybe it comes with age?) - they're perfect for when you're short on time but want to explore. I booked mine through my hostel, Living Lounge, but there are so many on offer! It's the easiest way to tick off the main landmarks, learn a bit about the culture, and - if the tour guide is good - find out about some hidden gems you can go and check out later.


Eat like a local at Casa de India


lisbon restaurant

An unassuming restaurant on a busy street - you'd probably not think about going in unless someone told you about it. So, here I am. Dating back to 1500, this casual haunt is loved by locals for its welcoming atmosphere, tasty no-fuss food and low-key feel. When I visited I was the only English person there, and I was welcomed with open arms and a huge smile by the guy who runs it. I love proper local places like this, where you can people watch and be amongst normal everyday life. If you're looking for cheap eats and a spot away from the tourists, add it to your list.


Go to Hotel Mundial Rooftop Bar for sunset views


lisbon rooftop sunset

I'm a sucker for a good rooftop, so I had to find one to watch the sunset over the city. To be honest, I'm not sure what made me pick this one out of the list of rooftops around Lisbon, as it's not my usual casual vibe - but it had great views, a calm atmosphere and tasty wine. And sometimes that's all you need! Tip: Try the vinho verde (green wine) - it's native to Portugal, and really refreshing.


Make sure you hop on a train to Sintra


pena palace sintra

Last but definitely not least, is this fairytale-esque town nestled into the hills of the Serra de Sintra. A 1-hour train from Lisboa Santa Apolonia, it's an easy day trip - although I wish I'd stayed overnight to really soak it all up. The sole purpose of my trip was to visit the Palácio da Pena (Pena Palace), but there's so much more to explore. The Palace was like nothing I've ever seen before - a brightly painted castle perched on the top of a hill, overlooking the town below. A real life princess palace!


And that's my list of the top 10 things to do in Lisbon - a mix that'll satisfy foodies, culture vultures and architecture nerds... just like me!

0 comments

コメント


bottom of page