top of page

Morocco Theme Night at Home

I picked Morocco on my first turn because I know I've already got quite a lot of boho stuff, so I felt pretty confident I could recreate the room without having to spend any money. I'm also obsessed with cooking, and I love Moroccan food, so again - seemed like a no-brainer. I went a bit mad on the menu, and we had Moroccan leftovers for days, but it was soooo good so we didn't mind.


Dress code: Boho


Food:

My menu was -

Starters:

  • Hummus & bread

  • Aubergine fries with a paprika and parmesan crust (air fryer)

  • Falafel & mint yoghurt

Main:

  • Lamb tagine with apricots & toasted almonds

  • Chicken tagine witsh lemon, olives & dates

  • Moroccan zaalouk

  • Cous cous

I'm not going to go into much detail with the starters - I made everything from scratch except the falafel as I ran out of time, but you can literally buy all of that (except maybe the aubergine fries, but they didn't go well imo - although beth loved them). You can easily make mint yoghurt - just stick both ingredients in a blender and voila! I'm just going to focus on the tagines because OMG they were insane.


These do require a lot of dried spices, but you can pick them up so cheap in Lidl/Aldi and then once you have them, you rarely need to buy them again... they're handy if you make a lot of Asian/Middle Eastern food, which I do!

Drinks:

I served up some trusty mojitos as we had stuff from the previous week leftover, and to finish the food off, I'd bought some herbal mint tea from my fave Earlsfield restaurant Amrutha Lounge but you can just buy some regular herbal tea to aid digestion. SO GOOD and necessary, as we were stuffed!


The room and the music:

As mentioned, I own a lot of boho type stuff so this was pretty easy for me. But I made it so we were dining on the floor, around the coffee table - I laid out a bunch of mismatched blankets and throws across the floor (one had a mandala on, so popped that in the middle) and added two cushions to sit on.


Then for the lighting, I draped some fairylights along the coffee table, and another set along the floor, and our candles and lamps were on the floor around us. And because I was feeling particularly creative, I made a menu and "laminated" it in sellotape.


I have a dreamcatcher and some framed pictures of women in Morocco, so I placed the pictures around us and hung the dreamcatcher up. I brought a few of our larger plants/hanging ivy in too - but none of these things are 100% necessary. I'd also found some multi-coloured bunting we had in the cupboard, which I hung up across the dining space. Just see what you have around the house that could work. It's mainly the lighting and dining on the floor that gave it the real boho feel, and then I found some Moroccan music playlists on Spotify.


morocco theme night
Not the best quality, as the room was dark, but you get the picture...

0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page